Zack Hayhurst – Marketing the Performing Arts

This past fall I began the Master of Arts Management program here at AU. I have my Bachelor of Arts in Interpersonal Communications and a minor in Philosophy from the University of Central Florida. Four years out of college, I wondered how I might get involved with the arts on an administrative and professional level. I had always been a vocal artist, singing with various groups and as a soloist, but I realized after a while I enjoyed it more as a hobby than a profession. After thoroughly researching possible graduate programs, I decided on the Arts Management program here at American.

This semester, I am undertaking a marketing internship at Washington Performing Arts Society. They are an arts presenting organization here in DC, hosting artists and groups from all over the world. This semester, I am charged with researching and writing different marketing copy for next seasons’ artists, as well as implementing a student discount program.  It is only my first week,  so I am sure to have more interesting assignments as the semester progresses. This blog will serve as a way for me to reflect on my experiences, and perhaps spark some interest in readers to pursue a similar internship in marketing for the performing arts.

