First Week

Well, I just finished my first week as an intern, and so far I love it.

I work 20 hours a week, divided over three days, and while I’m still getting used to the idea that I go to work more days a week than I go to classes, I’m enjoying it. Everyone at the office has been very friendly and helpful, making my transition into interning go very smoothly.

It’s probably about time I explain a little more of what I do at my internship.

I, along with two other interns, help the coordinators plan the Folklife Festival that will be held on the National Mall this summer. One of the focuses of the Festival this year is on the various intriguing (and sometimes surprising) things that people do as Smithsonian employees. This meant that on my very first day interning I got to be taken on a tour of the workshop where most of the Smithsonian’s exhibits are made, and see all the crazy gadgets they use to make them. There will be a section of the Festival devoted to explaining how the exhibits are made, and judging from what I saw on Tuesday, it’s definitely something everyone should check out when they go to the Festival!

All in all, I think I can pronounce my first week a success!

