Hands-off vs. Hands-on supervision. What do you prefer?

Yesterday marked the completion of my third week at Washington Performing Arts Society.  Something that has become more and more clear to me each day I work there is the hands-off style of my supervisors.  I have tasks that I have been given, and short of me asking them questions, they rarely come around to my desk to monitor my progress.  While personally, I like this type of supervision, I know others prefer a more guided approach to assignments.

For all of you reading this who are currently in an internship, or those of you who plan on doing an internship sometime soon, what kind of style do you prefer and why?  Are you the person that likes to be given a general goal or outcome to achieve and then be left to your own devices to accomplish it, or are you someone that performs better when clear directions and expectations are given?

