Working Towards a Goal – A Necessity

If you’re like me, you need a clear end to the road in front of you to enjoy the journey.  Or at the very least, be able to see the next rest stop.

At my internship with Mobilize.org, the next rest stop is our Democracy 2.0 Awards Summit: Beyond the Welcome Home in April.  It will be three days in April, where we bring together 100 Millennial Veterans to discuss and collaborate on the issues that are most important to them.

A clear and concise end point will help you get through many situations.  Like when someone asks me the question, ” So, what do you do for Mobilize.org?”  I can tell them about the summit and the specific types of tasks I’ve done to work toward it (press and social media outreach, partner relations, etc.).  A clear goal is also helpful when your internship gets frustrating.  They all will in various ways; but it’s nice to be able to say – “Even though I don’t want to do this specific task I understand the role it will play in achieving my goal.”

So whether your goal is to put on a stellar summit for some of our country’s most valuable assets – like mine – or if it’s as simple as, ” I want to learn more about a specific type of work and whether it’s a good match for me” the goal is key.  It will be your guiding light in the storm, the book you read over and over again, your bread and butter.

So what are you waiting for?  Go, goal set!

