Hi everyone! My name is Kristen Casapull…

Hi everyone! My name is Kristen Casapulla, I am a senior in SIS, with a minor in International Business. I am interning at the Foundation for the Defense of Democracies for the spring semester.  I got the internship by just looking at the career center’s website, and applying the old-fashioned way!  I really think I lucked out with this internship considering how much I like it.  A brief overview of what FDD does: it’s a think/action tank that takes the ideals that make up a democracy and try to implement them in places where there is trouble and turmoil, like in the Middle East.  The board of directors is made up of Congress people  from both sides of the spectrum, both an ex-CIA and FBI director, and even an Ambassador.  The staff is also made up of very talented and smart people who have interesting backgrounds and have one goal in mind: peace throughout the world.  The Foundation is fueled by donations and grants by average people who see what we are doing as a means to an end.

When I work at FDD, I really feel like I am part of something bigger, and that the organization really does excellent work and puts ideas into action.  THe staff at FDD gets published in magazines, newspapers and online and appear on numerous tv shoes, even the Daily Show! So I really know they are doing a great job of getting the word out there, and that by me working there, I am somehow helping this happen.  I think that working at an organization like this, where everyone works towards a common goal, that I realize what I may want to do after graduation.  If anything, I know I will take that away from my internship, which to me is probably the best thing I can get from it! A clear path in mind for after graduation…finally!!  Well, until next time I hope you enjoy reading about my experience at FDD as much as I enjoy writing about it!

