Choosing the Right Fit

I must admit, my internship was a complete stroke of great luck. Kate gave a presentation in one of my classes and afterwards I asked her if she would be interested in having an intern next semester. She said yes and the rest is history (good lesson: it is alway a good idea to have a conversation with people in your field. You never know what it will lead to). Despite not having gone through an extensive job search process, I couldn’t be happier with where I ended up. I’m working on stuff that I’m interested in. My advisor is super respectful, appreciative, and enthusiastic. She is also really accommodating of my crazy college schedule. She gives me tons of freedom with my assignments. I can definitely tell that she trusts me to do a good job.

Thinking about all this makes me realize that there are so many factors that determine whether a person is going to be happy at an internship. If you are choosing between multiple internships, consider whether it feels like a good fit. When you interviewed, how did you feel about the staff? Have you talked to other people who have interned there before? You might be able to do some research about the company and see if their philosophies match with your own. Obviously, in this economy, we may not always have the luxury of choosing between multiple jobs. If you do however find yourself with options make sure you consider the big picture. Sure, salaries are important, but no one wants to be miserable at their job every day. I can tell you from first hand experience that when you find an internship that you love, it makes all the difference in the world. I may even continue to help out next semester even though I won’t be getting credit.

