Great News!!!!

Something absolutely amazing happened to me last Thursday, I got my Security clearance!! YAYAY. Now I finally have an official badge, no one has to pick me up at the front door in the morning, and I can leave my office without getting locked out in the stair way. It is awesome.

Anyway, on to things of actual importance. I am just finishing my the first part of my assignment, and have approximately 25 more files to go through!!! Going through all these files is a bit of a pain, but it is sometimes really interesting what I find inside. In my journey of searching for anything endowment related, I’ve found stories from Holocaust survivors, letters between donors and USHMM employees, and legal paperwork that would make your head spin. But, it is all a learning experience, and I’m loving it. Even though I’ve never met any of these people before, I am starting to become familiar with their names and remember little bits about them here and there. I’m making friends I will probably never meet! Is that corney? Maybe!

Yesterday I decided to take a break and attend a lecture at the museum about a new book, The Jewish Response to Presecution, VOL 1, 1933-1938. There were 5 panalists, or “readers”, who each read sections and documents from the book. These readers were actually some of the Survivor Volunteers from the museum. It was such an honor to be able to sit and listen to some of their own personal stories, thinking about the things they had to go through, I get a little choked up.

I am going to Holland on Thursday for Spring Break, and asked my supervisor if he has anywork for me to do while I am there! He said he’d think about it. HAHA. But i’m definitely going to the Anne Frank House, and maybe I will get in for free if I show my USHMM badge!!!!

