Guiding People Through the Process.

Hi Everybody!  I know it’s been a while since my last post, but I promise it was worth the wait…

Over the last few weeks in my work with Mobilize.org, I have been guiding summit applicants through the process of submitting applications and proposals for funding.  And I have noticed a few things about myself in the process.

  1. For me, passion is contagious – if you have it, I will get it from listening to you.
  2. Your passion allows me to establish a personal connection, or investment, in you or your idea.
  3. This connection helps me to better advise applicants on how to proceed.
  4. This connection allows me to better advocate on behalf of the applicants I am working with.

You’re probably thinking, “Ok, how does this apply to me?”  Trust me it does.

In my internship, I have learned that I work harder for people who work hard for themselves.  I also learned that, when I have a personal investment in the people I am helping – even on a basic level, like which form to fill out – it makes my job a lot easier and a lot more enjoyable.  I am also more effective at my job when I have a personal investment, and by that I mean I want the applicant to succeed because I believe in the impact they could potentially have.

So now that you know what makes me tick, ask yourself “What drives me?”  What is that one thing that makes it worth your time and energy to go to work every morning?  What, if anything, makes you stay late and put in extra effort?

You don’t need to know what that is right now; but when you figure it out, TELL YOUR BOSS!  Chances are, they want to put you in a position that you will feel rewarded by.  It allows you and your employer, whatever sector you work in, to get the most out of your work.  You will be more productive (your boss is happy) and you will be more satisfied in the work that you do (you will be happy).  It’s a win-win.

P.S. I promise my next post will be soon!  We have a Board Meeting and Staff Retreat coming up and I’ll let you know all about it.

