Congress loves us!

Hey all!

I am sorry I have not been posting for a while. The perks about interning for a federal agency is that you can make an impact on the federal government, but the worst part is ….. congress reviews your office.

Allegations of harsh enforcement on fisherman has been brought to the U.S. Congress’ attention. With that said, my office has been working long hours to compile numbers, statistics, names, and actions. Late nights, early mornings, and everything in between has been happening.

What I find though is that when Congress wants something… they want it in 1 day when it will take 3 days to get. So while our office should be carrying out our daily functions, everyone is putting their work on halt to compose information that congress wants.

I find it ironic that when Congress wants information and things done, they want it done quickly but when the people ask Congress for information and things to get done… it gets done on their own time at their own pace.

I am trying to not make this seem like a politic blog so I am going to go back to my internship.

Our office has been going through a lot of stressful work hours to please Congress and successfully finish our congressional hearings.

Once I can catch up with my work and internship requirements, I can post more about what I’ve been doing and learning.

It’s the speed bumps and the barricades that makes the experience fun though.

Please watch this video to watch part of the Congressional hearing: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bS8VRSDUuuE

Until next time,

-Stephanie

