How I Spent My Senior Year Spring Break

…no, it didn’t involve beaches, fruity drinks or Mexican food. While everyone was off enjoying beautiful weather or being home with their families, I stayed here in DC and interned. At first, I have to admit that I was sad I wouldn’t have a typical Spring Break trip during my last year of college. However, I think it was a blessing in disguise.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve really bonded with the people I work with at National Geographic and I think myself and the other intern really showed them how crucial interns are. We’re now in the midst of the International Conference and it’s been so crazy, yet very rewarding. One thing I’ve realized through the running around, late nights and early mornings is the importance of saying “thank you” – and it goes both ways. Supervisors and colleagues should appreciate the help interns give, but we should also recognize others when they help us with our own projects and goals. I have some great role models and friends here and I’m going to make sure I say “thank you” to them as much as I can.

