To teach or not to teach?

There’s not too much new on my end. My internship is going well but I’m pretty much doing what I have been doing in the past so I won’t bore you with the same old details. One thing that is on my mind is career planning. I may (or may not) have mentioned that I am doing a combined BS/MS here at AU in Health Promotion Management. This is really excited and I love my program. The more I learn about health promotion and education and simultaneously learn more about myself, the more I think I wan to teach in middle and high schools when I am older.  My internship definitely played a role in helping me figure things out. I have realized that I do not want to work with college age students as my priority population.  I also realize  that I would rather be teaching material to students than designing behavioral interventions. Or at least I think so… I think I would like teaching but I have never been in front of a classroom or had to create my own lesson plans. So I’m a little hesitant to say I want to be a teacher because I’m worried I haven’t yet gotten a feel for what the whole teaching experience would be like. So I have e-mailed some recent grads who are teaching. I have received replies from an AU alum and a family friend who is a teacher, inviting me to come spend the day at their schools with them. They both said that is the best way to get into the field. So I’ll be doing that soon. I’m really excited! So…that’s what is new in my life what about yours?!

