The Dark Side of Internships

Here at AU Interns, we like to believe that internships are the best thing after sliced bread. Personally, I think they’re the best things after brunching and Sunday morning walks. A lot of us at AU have had amazing experiences at our internships, made friends and mentors or have received jobs because of the internships we’ve held.

Besides interning, I babysit weekly for a great family in the area. The parents of the kids I babysit for work in/are some major players in the labor world (labor industry? I don’t know). Sometimes they ask me what I’m doing at National Geographic and are almost bothered at how much “real work” I do 3 days a week while not getting paid. Then last night, I got an e-mail from the Father containing this article (you should really read it, it’s bizarre some of the “internships” students have had).

There are always good and bad sides to any job or internship, and this article definitely points out the dark sides. I think AU has done a good job of making sure we don’t end up in situations mentioned in the article, and I know I’m lucky for not having to be the one to “wipe the door handles each day to minimize the spread of swine flu.”

