When Social Media is not the best new thing…

So I was recently talking to a friend of mine and she told me about a girl she knew who graduated last year and got a job pretty quickly, had recently gotten fired.  I had met this girl before and knew she was smart, really involved in school and an extremely nice and outgoing girl.  The reason she got fired was because the company she worked for tracks her computer activity and saw that she used Facebook and g-chat too much, and they fired her for not being productive in her job on the basis of these activity reports.  Although I hadn’t talked to this girl face to face I knew she probably did not lack in her work performance but I guess the analysis reports made it look like she was constantly on social media websites instead of doing her work, and her company did not want someone doing that during their time.  Although this is a depressing story especially while everyone is in the process of looking for jobs right now, but it also really gave me a wake up call.  Even at my internship, I don’t usually go on Facebook too much, but I tend to go on celebrity gossip sites, or open my emails from clothing stores.  Even if someone can’t see your screen, this is a good lesson to note that your company may know what you are doing all the time.  So lesson learned: when you get a job, don’t lose it by going on websites that aren’t necessary!!!! My advice…if you get bored, check the news or go take a walk around the office, no one can blame you for that!

