The End of an Internship

Well, my internship at the USHMM is just about over. Although there were a few bumps in the road, I have to say it was definitely the most rewarding internship I have had. I am going to look back on my experience there very fondly, especially when I drink some tea out of my new USHMM coffee mug! I learned a lot and feel confident in my abilities leaving the museum. I am looking forward to moving on and think development is really something I can achieve at and excel in. The staff at the USHMM taught me a lot about being part of a team, working toward the bigger picture, and what it means to really work toward something. The experience I had at the museum in planned giving, including the projects I worked on, people I met, and the Days of Remembrance events, are all things that I will be able to take with me as I leave. While I’m not yet quite ready to have a REAL job, interning at the USHMM gave me an idea of what it will be like working in such a capacity, one where the work I do is valued and appreciated, and not just a project to fill my time. I am very excited about the opportunity I had working at the museum and am looking forward to the future, full of new ideas and new knowledge to help me in my future career!

