New Blogger on the Block

Greetings!

My name is Charles Thompson, Jr. and I am currently a graduate student at American University pursuing a MS in Accounting.  In the coming weeks, I will be interning at the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) in Arlington, VA as an internal audit intern.  It is my expectation that by the conclusion of this internship, I will have both greater insight and appreciation for the internal controls process (specifically Sarbanes Oxley 404 compliance).

A little background about myself.  I completed my BS in Accounting at American U in 2009.  During my time at AU, I was able to intern at RedPeg Marketing, Ernst & Young, Denburg & Low, PA & the Center for Voting and Democracy.  I was also able to get involved with several co-curricular activities.  Among these included serving as a volunteer tax preparer for Community Tax Aid; joining Alpha Kappa Psi, serving as President of the University’s Accounting Club and competing in the annual Kogod Financial Case Competition several times.

As you may have gauged by now, I have a passion for financial reporting and auditing.  Following my summer internship, I will begin my professional career with Ernst & Young as an auditor.

I’m looking forward to communicating with the AU world in the coming weeks.

