Greetings from the Bluegrass State!

Hello there! I’m new to the blogging sphere for AU Interns so let me take this opportunity to introduce myself.

My name is Amanda Zimmer and I am an upcoming junior at American University majoring in Broadcast Journalism with minors in Marketing and Studio Art Multimedia. In my two years at American, I’ve really immersed myself in all the opportunities that the university and city of Washington, D.C. offers. I am extremely active within the School of Communication, serving my second term as president of the Undergraduate Council as well as an ambassador to perspective and first-year students. I am also involved with the Kogod School of Business as the vice president of communication for the Kogod Marketing Association and a new brother of the business fraternity, Alpha Kappa Psi. As you can see, I keep pretty busy! But I love it and wouldn’t want it any other way.

Living in the DC area, I have had some amazing opportunities and internships thus far that have really allowed me to get out into the city and meet a variety of people. Check out more below the cut on my internship experience both in Washington and my hometown of Lexington, Kentucky.

I began my internship career serving as the first full year high school intern at WKYT-27 stationed in Lexington. I was able to obtain hands on experience and even produce a segment newscast that appeared on the local CNN! I got to experience the chaos of a news station during the election season as I was there for the election of Kentucky governor Steve Brashear and the primaries for the 2008 Presidential election.

In the Spring of 2009, I took the position as a high school sports reporter with the Northwest Current newspaper. I interviewed coaches and athletes alike for a variety of sports ranging from basketball to wrestling. The one story that stands out is the piece I did about a female baseball player who joined the all males team. I learned from the whole experience that reporting is a lot more difficult than meets the eye.

One of the greatest experiences that I had in Washington was when I served as a voluntary intern for Fox News for President Obama’s 2009 inauguration. I was sent out with a camera on a cell phone to capture video if anything should happen, I could stream it back in real-time to the station. Unfortunately, due to the large amounts of people who descended on DC that day, the cell towers got jammed and the phones didn’t work. That is technology for you! But getting to visit the Fox studios and interact with the people who worked there was a valuable networking experience that I hope to make use of in the future.

This past school year, I decided to join the Communications department of American University Athletics. In the past few months , I have learned skills in capturing and editing videos as well as how to run a live broadcast of our athletic events. I began training last spring and look to become a full producer this fall. It has really been a great experience so far in getting to know the staffs and players in the athletic department and I hope to learn and grow more with them in the upcoming years.

Lastly (I know…bare with me!) I have worked as a photography/marketing intern for iHigh.com based out of Lexington for the past two years. This is where I’ll be interning again this summer. I dabble mostly in photography, which is both a learning experience (photographing people in motion is hard!) and a lot of fun. I also got to meet Jared the Subway guy! Who else gets to go to a baseball game for work? As the summer progresses, you’ll learn more and more about iHigh and hopefully you’ll have the page bookmarked soon!

Okay enough about all that I have done in the past, I’m really looking forward to the future. The reason I intern so much is to gain experience and hopefully learn from my mistakes now so I don’t repeat myself in the future. If you’d like to see more of what I have done, please feel free to check out my digital portfolio (which I’ll be constantly updating as I finish things!). I’m not a pro at all of the social media out there but I’m trying my best. You can follow me on Twitter or find me on LinkedIn. I’d love to get to know you all (this is my sly attempt at networking!).

Let me know if you have any questions as we go along – comment or email me at amanda.zimmer@american.edu.

Thanks 🙂

