Hello from Another New Blogger!

Hi everyone!  My name is Erica Lawton, and I am one of the new student bloggers for the AU Career Center.  To give you a bit of background about myself, I’m a master’s candidate in the Public Communication program at AU.  Last month, I completed my master’s capstone, which analyzed Barack Obama’s new media strategies in campaigning versus governance and evaluated its effects on a potential “permanent campaign.”  Prior to coming to AU, I graduated from Bryant University in May 2009 with a BA in communication, and I interned at an integrated marketing communications firm in Providence, RI.

This summer, I’m interning at Xenophon Strategies, a strategic communications firm in downtown DC specializing in PR, public affairs, crisis communication, and government affairs.  I actually found the internship through Twitter; back in February, a Twitter event called “Help a PR Pro Out” (HAPPO for short) allowed participants to network with each other about potential communication opportunities across the country.  After the event, I kept following the #HAPPO hashtag for updates, and one day I came across Xenophon’s tweet about a potential summer internship in DC.  I responded to the tweet, submitted a resume, went in for an interview, and the rest is history.

I started interning at Xenophon two weeks ago, and I already enjoy it.  I’ve had the opportunity to jump into different projects, do work for clients, and explore social media outlets for new strategies – but you’ll have to stay tuned to learn more!  I look forward to sharing my experiences!

