Summer internship – Glimmerglass Opera

Hey gang!
Another semester, another internship.  As some of you may already know, I am spending the summer in Cooperstown, NY, working for the Glimmerglass Opera.  I arrived here on May 16th, and I will be here until the last opera ends on August 24th.  As such, I will miss the first week of Fall semester.  <sad face>.
Glimmerglass Opera is a summer opera festival that prides itself in presenting rarely performed and newly staged operas.  A proud aspect of their organization is the Young American Artist Program (YAAP).  The Young American Artists Program was established at Glimmerglass Opera in 1988 as an important component of the company’s mission to promote an artistically challenging environment for young American performers. The program provides training and performance experience for talented singers at the beginning of their professional careers.
This semester I will work directly with the artistic staff, primarily the director of the YAAP program.  My primary duties include helping to manage the schedules of the 38 young artists performing here this summer.  These duties include, but are not limited to:
  • cross-checking daily recital, rehearsal and coaching schedules
  • coordinating audition panels and all the arrangements for audition panelists
  • arranging for VIP and Comp tickets for all audition panelists and VIP’s
These are the things I’ve been assigned so far in these first two weeks.  The YAAPs just arrive this week, so things are bound to get crazy really soon, which means my duties will probably continue to increase and change.  After all, who knows what to expect when you get 38 opera singers together?  One word: DRAMA!
My living situation is like many here at Glimmerglass this summer.  I am living in one of the five satellite houses with three of the YAAPs; two tenors and one baritone.  They are all really cool guys, and I feel lucky to mesh with them so well.  
I chose to come to Glimmerglass this summer for two reasons.  One, I wanted to learn more about the opera field.  And second, I wanted an internship on the artistic side of things.  I wanted to see what it would be like to work directly with the artists and develop a season/production.  This summer will certainly expose me to these experiences.
