Make Sure Your Internship is an Ace

The most valuable thing that you can get out of an internship is hands on experience. If you are not able to jump in and really get a chance to do more than just grab coffee and sit behind a desk, you need to find another place to spend your time. While being at iHigh, I paid my dues behind a desk but I also got to go out and actually do something! This past weekend, for the second year in a row, I was a photographer at the Kentucky High School Athletic Association (KHSAA) State Tennis Tournament held at the tennis complex on the University of Kentucky’s campus.

Even though I don’t plan on being a professional photographer, there is a lot of skill behind capturing a good photograph. Knowing when to press the button and how long the shutter speed will take to actually record the action in relation to the athlete’s movement. It takes a lot of trial and error but throughout the past few summers, I’ve begun to get the hang of it.

I plan to carry these skills in photography over to the use of a digital video camera. Another aspect of photography is paying attention to what is going on and knowing when a good photo opportunity will happen. The same applies to video capturing. You have to know where and when to get the best angles available.

I will be doing several more tournaments this summer – as much as I love snapping photos, I really wouldn’t mind if the heat would turn down a bit. Why do all the tournaments fall on days of 80+ degree weather with no clouds?

For all photographs taken, visit KHSAA iHigh and go to the photo galleries further down the page. For my personal favorite photos I took, visit my personal digital portfolio.

