Meet me … Animal Planet’s new intern

Hey everyone,

I’m Ashley Wolos. I can’t believe this is my last summer before I’m officially in the real world. Until then I’m a senior majoring in Public Communication and minoring in Marketing. I am originally from Massachusetts, but I consider DC my new home. I even took the big leap of moving off-campus into my own apartment. Just a half a mile from AU’s campus though. I’m looking forward to not visiting campus very much this summer though.

Instead I’ll be filling my days as an intern for Animal Planet at Discovery Communications. You probably watch some of Discovery’s plethora of shows on TLC or the Discovery,  Military Channel, Discovery Health Channels. I’ll be working on the PR for Animal Planet’s popular shows like River Monsters, It’s Me of the Dog, Whale Wars, Pit Bulls and Parolees, Animal Cops, Pet Star and many others that will get your tail-wagging. (sorry I had to) My first day is next Monday!

This past semester I was on campus so much between classes, events and meetings I wondered why I ever left. (No not just during Snowpocalypse – see pic)  But I love every minute of it!  I am President of AU’s Public Relations Student Society of America chapter (PRSSA). I help prospective students and incoming freshman discover all SOC & AU has to offer as a member of the School of Communication ambassadors. Any other clubs and organization when their events and meetings fit in.

If any PComm (aka Public Communication) or any other majors we don’t discriminate want more info on PRSSA feel free to ask. I highly recommend joining to any future strategic communication strategists. It’s a great opportunity to network with PR professionals in any related comm field in your local area and nationally. Also I serve as Communications Director for the PRSSA 2010 National Conference. The PRSSA chapters of AU, Howard University & the University of Maryland are co-hosting this five day conference packed with crucial lessons for young professionals and life long memories through sessions, speakers, and socials all in the heart of our nation’s capital.

Internships are a vital part of your education. AU and SOC have so many amazing connections through the Career Center. I interned with  Congressman Neal of Massachusetts last summer on Capitol Hill. For the past year I interned at August, Lang & Husak in Bethesda, MD.

Stay tuned for my adventures at Animal Planet!

