Montgomery County, MD- one of the top/safest US counties

Yesterday, my supervisor was presenting at Springbrook High School in Maryland and he asked me to come along. I’m glad I did, because although he has introduced me to a couple of things here and there, I learned a lot from his presentation.

I learned about the different parts of a firearm; that what he really does is look at the microscopic markings on the firearm components to compare unknown components to known ones; and  that understanding physics is really important in understanding firearms.

What stuck out the most was what he said about Montgomery County, MD, which is where I was raised and where I still live.

Firstly, he said that MoCo (as us residents like to call it) is ranked as one of the top 20 counties to live in the United States. Secondly, he mentioned that MoCo has almost 1 million residents and that only 13-17 homicides occur a year in MoCo. And most of the murderers in those homicides come in from Washington, DC or even Virginia, so it’s not really MoCo residents that are committing the crimes. Thus MoCo is also a really safe county to live in.

On the other hand, Washington, DC (which only has about 600, 000 residents) has about 300-400 homicides a year. Now I’m not trying to scare you with this information, but I do think it’s important to know about the places you leave in or go to school in. Most of these homicides occur in gang related activities, but that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t use common sense when walking around in DC at night or just be prepared by having some pepper spray, etc.

If you take in any information from this post, I hope that it is to be safe and use smart judgement wherever you are!

