Four weeks in

Today marks the beginning of my fourth week interning at Glimmerglass Opera.  It feels like I’ve been here a lot longer, but only because I’ve been doing a lot of work and staying busy.  Most of my days are ten hours long.  It starts at around 10am, and goes to around 6 or 8pm each evening.  It’s less like an internship here, and more like a job.  This is a good thing.

I am working with great artists.  The level of talent they are bringing here is amazing.

This week begins the residency of Steven Blier.  He is the artistic director and co-founder of the New York Festival of Song, 1990 Grammy winner and two time Grammy nominee, is on the faculty at Juilliard, a coach for the New York City Opera, and has done recitals with such renowned singers as Renee Fleming, Cecilia Bartoli, Jessye Norman, Wolfgang Holzmair, Samuel Ramey, Susan Graham, Lorraine Hunt Lieberson, Dwayne Croft, Susanne Mentzer, June Anderson, Arleen Auger, Roberta Peters, Kurt Ollmann, among others.

I am particularly looking forward to his arrival, as I will be spending a large part of my day with him both in-transit and in other activities throughout his daily schedule.

This week also begins tech dress rehearsals for The Tenderland and Tosca.  In fact, I’m writing this blog post while watching the dress rehearsal in the theater.  I typically wouldn’t feel compelled to be on my laptop while watching a dress rehearsal, but I’ve been without a strong internet connection ever since I got here, and this theater has awesome wireless!

