Another Summer, Another Internship

Hi All!!! Its Emily again, and I’m back with a brand new internship!!! This summer I’ve started interning at what could possibly be my ideal organization, and a place I would love to be employed one day. Americans for the Arts, http://www.artsusa.org, is the nation’s leading non-profit organization for advancing the arts in America. “Americans for the Arts is dedicated to representing and serving local communities and creating opportunities for every American to participate in and appreciate all forms of the arts.” Americans for the Arts has 4 primary goals:

  1. Lead and serve individuals and organizations to help build environments in which the arts and arts education thrive and contribute to more vibrant and creative communities.
  2. Generate meaningful public and private sector policies and more leaders and resources for the arts and arts education.
  3. Build individual awareness and appreciation of the value of the arts and arts education.
  4. Ensure the operational stability of the organization and its ability to creatively respond to opportunities and challenges.

I first came across AftA my junior year at Syracuse when I was looking up job possibilities for after graduation. I applied, only to receive no response (so sad) but then decided that graduate school was a better option for me anyway. I decided to reapply for an internship this summer and was THRILLED to get it!!! I’m interning in Development once again as well as with a department called Leadership Alliances.  I will be doing a lot of prospect research, including research State Art Councils’ Boards of Directors, and researching possible guests and sponsors for the 2010 National Arts Awards in October. A lot of cool stuff is happening, and I can’t wait to let you all know how it goes!!!

