What do you want to do?

This is my least favorite question ever. I highly dislike this question. Not because I don’t have answers, though that is part of it. Mostly, I just think it’s a silly question. It’s great to ask a toddler or small child, they’ll give you great answers like zookeeper or fire fighter, but when a 28-year-old MA candidate gets asked, “What do you want to do?” I always feel put out.

Let me explain, are you someone who feels like life has a menu or is more of a buffet? I feel the buffet metaphor feels so much better. You have to get up and go get what you want, and you avoid what doesn’t interest you. If you ask someone what their favorite thing on the menu is, and they’ve only had one thing, how trustworthy is their response? If you’re at a buffet, you can pick and choose… You explore yourself, and your options, and eventually you decide what you DON’T want.

Careers and employment are so similar. Its about choices and decisions and what you feel inside.

For me, I don’t want to work somewhere I hate. I want to feel proud of where I work. I want to smile when I tell people what I do because it’s a little reminder to me of how much I really enjoy it.

Maybe you don’t want to do a job that doesn’t pay you very much.

Maybe you don’t want to do anything that makes you get up early?

Maybe you don’t want to do something that keeps you from travelling.

Maybe you don’t want to work somewhere without parental leave for both men and women?

What would happen if you spent your life thinking about what you wanted to do and instead of thinking about yourself and your needs, wants and loves, you spend it thinking solely about one point.

Maybe I’m wrong, maybe you wanted to be a Secretary of Energy since you were a kid, but I doubt it.

Maybe you don’t want to be a jerk for a living.

Maybe you don’t want to have to leave your kids alone at night.

Maybe you don’t want to work somewhere without animals.

These are the more important questions. We can narrow down what we want to do by eliminating what we know we don’t like. This is the question anyone can answer. This is the question we should be asking each other…

Cheers,

Trace

Have a question? Follow me on twitter @trace501

