Take Me Out to the Ball Game…

As I asked in the title of this post, for someone to please “take me out to the ball game”. Well I went to the ball game. I went to eleven ball games in 5 days as the Kentucky High School Athletic Association (KHSAA) hosted the 2010 State Baseball Tournament at Applebee’s Park in downtown Lexington, June 14th – 19th. As one of the tournament sponsors, iHigh was one of the official photographers of the games. So I got to spend almost 30 hours watching high school baseball…

With temperatures soaring into the 90s plus humidity, the weather conditions were near unbearable at some points as players, coaches, and photographers had to seek shade during every game. We even lost at an umpire to the heat. But attendance throughout the tournament was at an all-time high as approx. 28,000 people passed through the gates to watch their respective teams to play on Kentucky’s biggest baseball stage.

Even though I spent around 30 hours at the ball park, I got to experience the working media world at its peak. I was allowed up to the media suite with the photographers and camera crews from news organizations around the state. I was lucky enough to meet the photographer for the Lexington Herald Leader and help him choose the photographs for the front page of the Sunday Sports page, the night of the championship game. It was really neat to look in the paper the next morning to see where his editors placed each photo and how it was cropped to fit the space.

I also got to go into the press box located above the field. With several different radio broadcasts going on at once, it was strange hearing chatter all talking about the same thing but all so different. It was impressive how much each commentator knew about the teams and made me realize, I need to brush up on my baseball terminology!

While it was an exhausting week, I got to meet a lot of photographers and camera crews as well as take some really neat pictures from the press box, stands and on the field. Now only if I had a camera with a bigger lens…

For all the photos from the KHSAA State Baseball tournament, visit KHSAA.ihigh.com and go to the photo galleries. Some highlight photos that I took will be located on my personal digital portfolio. Enjoy!

ps. I’m working on a new personal website so be on the lookout of that in coming weeks!

