Team Building

Team building…now I’ll admit, whenever I hear of this concept I immediately think of a generic phrase devised by Corporate America. And although this may very well be the case, at least this prior week the FDIC was able to show me its value. This came about by way of Division of Finance’s Field Day. Yes, I know the idea of envisioning a group of accountants in activities unrelated to our excel spreadsheets may seem unfathomable. But alas, it happened…and there may be photos of our unathleticism floating somewhere on the net. Allow me to set the stage…one a hot Tuesday afternoon in a park far far away, the “Infamous Interns” faced off against the “Budget Bullies” (really, that was their actual team name…its an accounting thing). And although the game itself was wonderful, the fact that it served as an informal means for me, and the other interns for that matter, to get to know these seasoned professionals was even better.
`
Suddenly after an exciting game of kickball and getting to know the individuals who fill the offices around me, running into people around the office is more than generic greetings. Rather I found myself enjoying conversations with them about topics as serious as their experience here at the FDIC during the 2008 financial crisis when bank failures threatened sanity of the general public to inconsequential topics such as why American Idol will not last another season.
`
Further, the kickball game also led to more conversations with several individuals about their career path and how they obtained their CPA license. Needless to say, studying like your life is at stake seems to be the one commonality in all their stories.
`
Maybe it is possible team building is more than a term devised by Corporate America…I doubt it…but it least for this one instance it fostered a greater sense of community in the office.
