Country Life, opera, and blogging

For those of you who regularly read my blog posts and keep tabs on my progress (thanks Jessica and Matt!!), you will know that I haven’t posted on here in a while.  It’s not that I don’t want to – far from it.  However, living in a part of the country with limited cell phone service and spotty internet connection presents a new challenge to frequently blogging not seen since the day of dial-up AOL.

I’ve now been here at Glimmerglass Opera for about a month and a half.  In other words, I’ve just past the halfway point of my summer here.  Things have definietely picked up, and I finally feel like I understand my role here and where this summer is headed.  Some of things I’ve been doing include setting up for audition panels, processing VIP tickets, revising young artist resumes, assist scheduling manager with company daily schedule.. just to name a few.

There also a lot of things that happen here that I can’t necessarily talk about in a public forum.  Hence, my material for these posts must remain somewhat watered down and general.  Sorry!

Looking forward to the rest of the summer, I can look forward to a host of additional fun things.  For example, there are a series of development events later this summer where certain guest artists and young artists are asked to perform for donors, etc.  It will be my job to act as a contact between the artistic department and the development department in coordinating all of this with the selected singers.  Good times!  I’ll be sure to post more about that as it happens.

Okay – back to my country roads and cow pastures!

