Downtime Thoughts.

Angie had some matters to attend to, so I was able to get the rest of my week off. But that doesn’t necessarily mean that I shrugged off my internly duties! I still went through a lot of emails and went about adding Facebook requests for her in the meantime — but instead of being in the newsroom, I’d be at Starbucks (possibly looking like a yuppie stealing some wi-fi. Oh well!).

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to go to the Charm opening event like I had mentioned in my previous post, but once I get another event covered I’ll definitely post about it.

The more I do these things, the more I honestly forget that I’m not getting paid to do any of it. I realize that this might be an important factor to someone considering getting an internship in the first place, but seeing as how a majority of internships are unpaid, interns understand what they’re getting themselves into. I’m still getting shocked faces when I tell people I work at 3:30 in the morning. I imagine that they’d be saying things like, “Girl, you crazy!” in their heads but again, why should something you honestly enjoy doing even be doubted in your mind?! I’m a firm believer in doing what you love, but if you’re ever caught in a moment where you’re second-guessing something…you shouldn’t be doing it in the first place. Trial and error, friends. Trial and error.

That being said, I’m happy to be back in the newsroom again on Monday morning. Seriously!

