The Big Idea

In past internships I’ve always had opportunities to voice my opinion and contribute my ideas, but never so much as I did in a recent meeting at my current internship with the CEA.

Without divulging too many exciting details–soon the CEA will be announcing a new membership category for individuals (the “Consumer Technology Enthusiast”). Part of my job in this internship has been to work with our team and our ad agency to develop a campaign for promoting this new membership category as we lead up to and execute the launch later this year.

Just recently, our agency brought all of their team and invited approximately 20 CEA staff for a brainstorming session, myself included. We were instructed to bring along three ideas, written on three separate index cards.

Index cards in hand, myself and one other intern joined in the meeting and the entire room proceeded to “present” their ideas, one by one, in front of the entire group. After that we all placed our cards on the wall, where everyone in the room voted on ideas using stickers, and then we proceeded to further develop some of these ideas to come up with three main concepts.

My idea was one of those three final concepts. And not only that, but it was a central feature of the final campaign, the “best” one as voted on by the group.

I was, needless to say, a little shocked, but also thrilled and excited. Having the opportunity to get up there and present my idea in front of the group–me being “just” an intern–was a great experience and one that I feel really validated me as part of the team.

Just goes to show, the title “intern” is misleading. And I think it’s possibly the most misleading in marketing, public relations, and today’s digital communications. More and more I’m noticing that my fellow young colleagues and myself tend to have the big ideas, the successful ideas, and the ones that work in today’s modern digital world. Hopefully that’s a sign of good things to come when we all finally enter the “real” world.

