Me Time

The other day, I took a little “me” time. It was important, and necessary, and it felt good.

So good, in fact, that I felt the urge to blog about it here. I’m currently interning full-time, directing social media for a new startup organization part-time, writing for several blogs, and trying to maintain some semblance of a social life. At times, I feel a little bogged down.

I love the busy-ness, the stress, the hectic days with their early mornings and late nights. But that said, I’ve had very little time to devote to just me lately. So I finally took some.

I went for a long bike ride.
I bought a videogame, for the first time since 2007.
I went to the library and checked out an adult, fictional book. The first one in years.

What a relief! I biked home and relaxed with my kitten, playing videogames and hanging out on the couch. I read on my porch as the sun set, allowing the pages to suck me in and out of the internship-filled life that I seem to live nowadays.

Moral of the story? It’s okay to take some time for yourself. It’s been a hard lesson for me to learn, and I have no doubt that it’ll probably be some time for me to again sit back and really enjoy a videogame and a book like I did the other day. But even so, I hope I can look back on this post from time to time and realize that, amidst the craziness of living the non-stop intern life in DC (as represented by these nonstop blog posts on the AU Intern blog!), it’s always good to take a little “me” time, too.

