You’re working for free!

I have to ask cyberspace: Do you think they don’t know you’re working for free?

I’ve had lots of conversations with other interns lately. It’s at the point where everyone has approached their supervisors and asked about potential positions, but many of the interns I’ve talked to fear talking to their bosses to get time off for interviews. One intern I know even told her boss she had, “a friend in town,” who she was going to, “have lunch with.” Two hours later she returned, apologized and went back to her desk.

Ideal situation? Not particularly. This short post has really just the one point. Don’t be afraid to tell your boss where you’re going, the girl mentioned above got the job shortly after, came clean and her boss was ecstatic for her. Chances are, your supervisor wants you to succeed and would be proud to have you work somewhere. Unless they wanted to hire you, of course.

I remind myself with a sticky note on the dashboard of my computer. Remember, it’s not like they don’t know you don’t get paid.

