What A Day For a (Company) Picnic

I’ll come right out and say it: I’m not a company picnic kind of guy.

In fact, I’m rarely a fan of any event, meeting, party, picnic or otherwise that is designed to “get me to meet people,” unless I’m attending of my own accord. I’m a self-starter, a go-getter, a networker–I don’t need these events to meet people, right? Much less people in my own company. Well, not entirely true.

Let me preface this, too, by saying, it’s been a rough week. I’ve had back pain since the end of last week (pulled a strange muscle), I came down with a nasty cough over the weekend, and the heat hasn’t been kind to us in our non-air conditioned apartment in the past couple weeks (although it’s definitely not as bad as it sounds!).

With all of this, I approached the company picnic with already low expectations, and once I realized my back wasn’t quite back in shape enough to join the kickball tournament, I knew it was going to largely be a hot day of sitting around, eating too much food, and in general watching other people have a good time.

Alright, you’re probably thinking, what’s the point, here?

It wasn’t as bad as I’d feared. I suspect I’ll never be a company-picnic-kind-of-guy, but there’s a lesson to be learned in every experience and this was no exception.

The afternoon out at the park gave me an opportunity to meet a few people I hadn’t had the chance to, and put some faces with some names. It gave me a chance to chat with the other interns, get to know some other co-workers, and help out at a company-wide event. And if nothing else, it made me remember that it’s always important to make the best of less-than-awesome situations.

Was it hot? Sure. Was I feeling great? Not particularly. Was it an afternoon of billable time spent outside with new friends? Yes it was.

I may not be a company-picnic-kind-of-guy, but I’d gladly do it again.

