State Arts Agencies

Well, I am still working at Americans for the Arts, and things are going great. I’m still working on a massive project for in individual giving department. Prospect research is something I have not been able to do much of, and at AFTA I was given the opportunity to work on this and develop this skill. I began researching all of the National State Arts Agencies and their Board Members. While many of the members are currently already involved with Americans for the Arts, it is clear that the majority are not. After researching the boards, and searching for their contact information, I have been creating new entries in the Americans for the Arts database. These individuals are already interested in the arts and have some involvement with the arts within their own state. They are ideal candidates to began cultivating a relationship with, and hopefully they will donate their time, or their money to the organization. This has been a great opportunity to learn more about government relations in the arts and seeing what types of people are involved within the state agencies, and what other interests they have.

