Where has the time gone? (No, but seriously…)

It’s August already?! Didn’t I just start this internship last week, or something? This summer has been nothing but a blur in my mind — even more so these last three weeks. I apologize for the lack of posts, but I’ve been honestly busy. From my bed to the newsroom to working part-time to the countless events, I realize I am at the height of my summer and it’s all very stressful and enthralling at the same time.

I had the opportunity to go out and follow the 9 News Now morning show’s field reporter, and while I spent a lot of down-time in the news van, I think I probably learned a good deal about the ups and downs of broadcast from her. I couldn’t think about anything else for the rest of the day, and it gave me some real insight into what I definitely do and do not want in my life and career. Funny how such random occurrences leave you so inspired sometimes, isn’t it?

The thing that sticks out in my mind is that I’m comfortable in my element. Someone had asked me about my experience in broadcast and I had mentioned my previous work in high school and beyond, to which they replied, “…oh, it won’t stop. Once you get that bug…” and it’s only beginning to grow more rapidly.

At the moment I’m researching some new potential internships for the fall, which is nerve-wracking, but I’m thinking positively. Wish me luck!

