An Affair to Remember

While I was not invited to this year’s National Arts Awards, nor do I have the $1000 available to purchase the cheapest possible ticket, I have been completely enthralled and excited about this year’s NAA. Held every October at Cipriani’s in New York City the National Arts Awards highlights the accomplishment of those who are involved with or actively support the arts. Previous award recipients include Julie Andrews (Lifetime Achievement Award), Jake Gyllenhaal (Young Artist Award), Ed Ruscha (Artistic Excellence Award), and Anne Finucane, Bank of America (Corporate Citizenship in the Arts Award). 

Standard Station-Ed Ruscha

 

This year’s NAA event with be highlighting the achievements of Angela Lansbury, philanthropist and arts patron Martha Rivers Ingram, and fashion designer sisters, Kate and Laura Mulleavy, of Rodarte

During the course of my internship at Americans for the Arts I have been able to work on several aspects of this event. I have done a great deal of prospect research on the honorees. I’ve researched who they are and the people and organizations who surround their lives. These could be family members, friends, business associates, or fellow board members. These are people who we may want to invite to the event, ask to present the award to or who may want to sponsor the event and place an ad in the program. 

I also had the opportunity to do some mock-up invitations. I never really thought about going into event planning, but working on this project made me really excited and I think I would like to do more of this in the future! Lastly, I created an Artist Committee  Mosaic (I was going to talk about this in a separate post, but it fits better here!). The Artist Committee is made up a large group of former NAA honorees, as well as individuals who have been honored by the Arts and Business Council, and those who are great supporters of the organization. The mosaic I created is sort of like an update as to what is going on with members of this committee. It includes mainly images from AFTA events such as the National Arts Awards, inaugural Brunch, and Arts Advocacy Days. 

I can only imagine how awesome this year’s event is going to be. Maybe one day I will get to go, or even better be an honoree and take home this awesome little award! 

Jeff Koons-Rabbit

 


