Moving Up and Onward.

Continuing on my trend of being busy within the past month, I’ve had numerous opportunities to check out different sides of DC that I hardly encounter. To say that isn’t too much of a stretch — I am always on the go in this city and try to find lots of free, fun new things to do when I can — but these events definitely pushed me out of my comfort zone.

I was asked to go to an event at a doctor’s office in Glover Park, just down Wisconsin Ave. and to be honest, I was terrified. Even though I had brought a friend along, nerves got the best of me and I had no idea what to do. These are the kinds of moments where you have to look at yourself and go, “Would you mind if you had a camera in your face at this event?” I usually don’t, and after warming up with the crowd for a bit, I felt more comfortable with recording and taking photos just as the guests were willing to pose for me.

The same goes for an event in Georgetown; I was asked to cover an event for a fundraiser at the bar George, and while the crowd was considerably younger (where I felt at ease immediately), I wasn’t sure who to photograph where. But after finally diving in head first, we had gotten great footage of people we needed to interview…and had an amazing night afterwards.

Which kind of lead me to realize that I overthink things sometimes. And when you’re trying to get the best information, sometimes you just have to stop thinking and start doing. In those moments, I found I had the best work. (Even better – the footage turned into a great story.)

After asking Angie if she was okay with my putting her down as a recommendation for future opportunities, she sent me an email suggesting that I should try to apply for the station’s Metromix division (which focuses on local parties and events), as they are currently hiring for freelance writers. That’s when it really hit me: I kind of enjoyed doing those things. I kind of want to keep doing it. I kind of would really enjoy getting paid to write about it. Hopefully this is a step in the right direction.

