If you choose to accept it…

Working at Discovery has been a treat. I’ve learned non-linear editing, news gathering and a lot about how one of the most well-known brands in the world runs parts of its digital media department. It has been pretty fantastic all around, but now there’s only a week left and I have to cram anything else I’ve not done into this last week. Thankfully, social media audit went well (I’ll write about that soon) and the videos and blogs I’ve made for Discovery News have been well received. Next stop, a full-time job? Not in my department. Maybe another one.

Advice you didn’t ask for: Make yourself indispensible if you can. If you can’t meet as many people as possible. Meet friends, go to the meetings, even if you don’t have to and learn how the company runs so you can walk out with a useful network of connections and some working knowledge.

It’s like a spy movie, the more you can learn about the inner workings of your target, the better.

Good luck.

