Keep with It – It Pays Off

Hey everyone,

So scary to think this summer is coming to a close! My internship at iHigh.com is over for another summer and I’m back in Washington, D.C. It is crazy to think that 3 months passed so quickly. While I loved being home, it is great to be back in DC. I apologize on the hiatus – between packing, driving and moving into my first apartment – things have been hectic. But it allows me to look towards to future (I’ll update you on my next post as I am still working out the details of it at the moment.) and I am really excited for what is to come! But so far this is what I’ve learned this summer.

After 3 years of working at iHigh.com, I no longer feel like the intern, but more as a part of the company. I have been with iHigh since their early days and have really watched them grow. And I have been a part of it the whole time and feel that in some way, even just the smallest amount I do each summer, has helped them grow. And as an intern, that is a pretty good feeling.

I think the big thing that shows future employers about your work habit is not the places that you intern at, but what you learned from it and how you contributed to the company. I’ve seen posters for the Bluegrass State Games, both the ones I hung up around town and in the paper, that feature photos that I have taken. The Bluegrass State Games started out small and have now grown to a recognizable name and makes me feel good that I get to be apart of it.

I’m not an expert but I know lots of other interns out there who feel the same way. Put in a good effort and results will show. Don’t jump ship after a semester if that’s all you are there for. Offer to stay in touch and do work on a time by time basis that works for both of you. That’s what I did for iHigh. I do what I can for them when I am home in the summer and winter months and keep up with them throughout the year so you can go back and be up date with the company.

These are the people who will remember you and write your better recommendations in the future because they know you aren’t there for the one and done. Plus, I’ve heard future employers like to see that you stick with something. And I understand why. If you invest in a company, you never know when they will invest back in you. Everyone always loves a loyal employee!

Stay tuned for what I have in store for the fall! More soon!

