Blog Clog

I recently went through the tedious process of writing a blog entry for my organization. The 500-word entry was only destined for my own organization’s blog, but I was in for weeks of editing and persistence before it would find a home.

First, I worked with our communications director to trim it and reframe it so it was more relevant to the company brand and became more of a ‘think-piece’ than an introduction to my experiment-to-come. It went through about 5 or 6 edits before it was deemed acceptable for submission to the blog staff.

The following is my correspondence with the communications [emphasized for irony] guy who runs the blog. Please note, I’m sure this staff member has a lot on his plate; this is not meant to be disparaging, only to show one intern’s experience of an unexpectedly prolonged process of publishing a single blog entry:

Eric Saltzman Fri, Aug 6, 2010 at 3:06 PM
To: d********a@ifmr.co.in

Hi D*****h,

Please see attached file with a new post for the blog. Please contact me with any questions regarding the footnotes and reference section, or anything else that may be an issue.

Thanks,
Eric Saltzman

________________________________________
Eric Saltzman Mon, Aug 9, 2010 at 12:23 PM
To: d*******a@ifmr.co.in

Hi D****h,

I did not hear back from you regarding the blog post I sent over. Please confirm that you have received and relay when I should expect to see it posted on the blog. Thank you kindly.

Best,
Eric

________________________________________
D*********a@ifmr.co.in Mon, Aug 9, 2010 at 12:38 PM
To: Eric Saltzman
Hi Eric,

Did get your mail, apologies for the late reply. Been held with a few things. Would revert on your draft shortly.

Thanks & regards,
D*****h

________________________________________
Eric Saltzman Wed, Aug 11, 2010 at 3:22 PM
To:
Hi D*****h,

I don’t mean to pester you, but I would appreciate an update on the blog post when you get a chance.

Thanks,
Eric

________________________________________
Wed, Aug 11, 2010 at 4:27 PM
To: Eric Saltzman

Hey Eric,

Of-late our blog has been focusing on only Finance and related topics that are narrower. Your post is great and throws an interesting dimension as regards healthcare advisory, however have to clear it before it gets published. So should have an update hopefully by tomorrow. Apologies for having to wait.

Regards,
D*****h

________________________________________
Mon, Aug 16, 2010 at 11:36 AM
To: Eric Saltzman
Hey Eric,

Apologies for making you wait. Unfortunately, we would not be able to accommodate your post considering the reason that I had outlined in my earlier mail. Many thanks for sending across the draft, and wish you the best with your research.

Thanks & Regards,
D*****h

___________________________________________
Eric Saltzman Mon, Aug 16, 2010 at 11:41 AM
To: s**********i@ifmr.ac.in

Fwd:

Hey Selvan,

Hmm…what now?

______________________________________________

Ultimately, the post found a home on our alternative page, the India Development Blog. If you’ve been following the AU Intern blog, you’ll notice that I previously posted on the same topic. From a communications standpoint, you may find it interesting to see the transformation it has undergone to frame the piece more appropriately for the audience of my organization’s blog.

Every day is a learning experience..

