Funny How Networking Works

Hey everyone,

This post isn’t really as much about internships as I’d like it to be only because I’m still waiting to hear back from the one I interviewed for several weeks ago (have to love the waiting game!). So this is more about a funny little story that happened to me about a week and an half ago. For more…click below!

This semester, I am taking a introductory photography class which required me to purchase a film SLR camera. To be honest, those cameras are not cheap. While having lunch with a friend, she suggested that we look to see if any cameras for sale on Craigslist. Now I’m one of those people who are weary of purchasing anything from Ebay so Craigslist wasn’t high on the list of purchase places, but I said why not.

Sure enough, my friend found the film version of her digital SLR on Craigslist for a great price. I contacted the seller through the website and later that afternoon we were emailing back and forth. Her name struck me as very familiar but I could not place where I knew her name from. So I did a little background researching on her and found on Facebook that she was friends with who else but fellow friend and AU intern blogger Alex Priest!

I casually mentioned it to her and that opened up the conversation a little bit more. To make a long story short, I got the camera in perfect condition and found out she is one of the Vice Presidents of the DC Chapter of the American Marketing Association that I volunteered for several times.

It made me realize exactly how close that six degrees of separation concept is. The lady, Alex and I were talking on Twitter (tweeting one another? haha) on how neat it is that networking really makes this world a lot smaller and somehow even in this big city, people know one another somehow. I think this is a big lesson to everyone to really make an effort to network with anyone and everyone because you never know when you will need them. In this case, I got lucky and not only got a great camera from Craigslist but I also formed a new contact and friend.

Networking is really key in any position you may be in your work career, whether it is just starting out looking for jobs or changing jobs at a later time. The more people you know, the more people they know and the ability to meet just about anybody in the world is within reach. Websites such as LinkedIn, Twitter and even Facebook can help you make valuable connections without having to make a huge effort. I think if you don’t get anything out of an internship besides meeting some new people, then you still walked away with more than you walked in with.

So if I can leave you with one piece of advice, not coming from the mouths of advisors, but as a real student, it is to NETWORK, NETWORK, NETWORK. It makes life more fun and interesting when you know people and you never know who you will meet and what doors it will open for you.

Now only if I can hear back from my interview…haha. Have a great rest of the Labor Day weekend!

