Basketball Basketball…

Hello everyone,

I apologize for the lack of blog posts from my account lately. But being a full-time student and an intern at the same time is nothing short of chaotic. Because I haven’t fully updated you, I’ll fill you in. I am now an intern for the Washington Wizards and the Washington Mystics. The two organizations just merged under the ownership of Monumental Sports. I am a new media and graphics design intern for the Mystics (WNBA) and marketing for the Wizards (NBA).

While I’ll keep you updated on my current whereabouts and doing, I can’t disclose any major information. So I can debunk rumors or give any inside scoops (sorry!) but otherwise, this is a pretty fun position.

I’ve been here about a week now and this past Monday night, I was on staff for the Midnight Tip-off Practice that kicked off the Wizards training camp. It was held at 12:01am at the Patriot Center at George Mason University. It was a great event that attracted several thousand students and fans from the area for a night of free giveaways, live music performances and the chance to see the 2010-2011 Wizards in action.

I arrived around 7pm with two other interns in the marketing department and we kind of just hung out with the staff and helped with projects as they arrived. We were in charge of distributing coupons for goodies at the end of the game including free Chik-fil-A and Dunkin Dounuts as well as pocket schedules, rosters and key chains that explain our Student Study Break program that features discounted tickets and free Chipolte for students! (Want details, ask me, I repeated it enough to know it by heart!).

We did great and actually ran out of pocket schedules they were so popular. I think it helped having the Wizard girls there helping me. 🙂

It was a long night but it seems that everyone had a good time. We have Fan Fest on Sunday that features a scrimmage match at the Patriot Center that ends the week-long training camp. Looks to be exciting.

It is pretty neat to be able to be apart of this organization and attend these events from a different perspective than being just a fan. As I’m here longer and become “more profound” in the sports management lingo, I’ll give updates!

Stay cool and dry out there – this weather is wacky!

Amanda

