Human Rights In The Classroom

Hi all! I know you are sitting at the edge of your seats, waiting for an update. Here it is!

Last Friday October 8th we had our first lesson at a classroom at Cardozo High. My co-facilitator and I used icebreakers so the students could get to know us, and everyone participated! I was thrilled! We talked about going to college, and shared some experiences. I found myself defending the AU basketball team- who would have ever thought I knew so much about March Madness? So many Georgetown fans in the classroom, sigh.

We discussed the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the UN, and why we need rights in general. The Human Rights Education Service Corps (program of Amnesty International) provided excellent resources. One of our activities was to imagine how the world might be a better place. My favorite activity was when I wrote HUMAN on the board, and everyone said words that came to their minds. We had an extremely lively discussion.

The highlights of the day included full classroom participation. I reiterated a million times that it was a safe space, that we were all here to listen to each other. The teacher told me she has never seen everyone speak during class. At the end of the class a student came up to me and shook my hand, and told me he was looking forward to next week. I am still touched, his comment made every second in the classroom completely worth it.

Speaking of next week, I am in the process of making the PowerPoint for our next class, which focuses on the Holocaust. Thanks for reading; you can go back to the edge of your seat now!

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed here do not necessarily reflect those of Amnesty International or the HRESC program. This blog is purely the opinions of Rosemarie Treanor.

 

