Learning about Media Lists and Media Alerts

This week I learned about writing media alerts by helping to draft a media advisory for an aviation solutions company.  I also helped draft some news briefs for a local DC bank, and started a press release for a research company that specializes in counter-terrorism .  All in all, it’s been a lot of writing that has kept me busy.

I’ve also helped research and start drafts of more social media posts for one of our client’s facebook and twitter accounts, which deal with news about the latest electronics, appliances and sports equipment.  According to the latest in electronics and gadgets, the new MacBook Air is here and it’s fabulous, the Athletic Propulsion Lab Concept 1 sneaker that gives you 3.5 inches more vertical lift with its unique spring system is BANNED from the NBA, Toshiba has created a solar powered E-reader, and Panasonic’s 3D HD TV has been rated the best of the best.

Basically, my internship has been involving a lot of research mixed with writing.  I’m currently working on helping to start a media list through Cision for regional and state publications.

What I have learned in the public relations world, however is that the development and planning time required in press announcements is considerable and sometimes materials take weeks to approve

On a completely irrelevant note, the maintenance man stopped in today and announced that they had extra flowers and nicely gave my desk a delightful potted plant.  I guess it brightens up the office a bit 🙂

