Looking Forward

This week is my last week, and it will be very eventful–literally. We are hosting a big event on Capitol Hill to advocate for legislation that supports research on Pulmonary Hypertension. For the past two and a half months or so, I’ve been working on organizing this event, and I’m excited (and nervous) to finally experience it!

At the same time, I’m sad that this event will be the end of my internship at PHA. I’ve done a lot of reflecting on how my experience at PHA has shaped my plans post graduation.

What my internship has done for me that the classroom has yet to do is to provide some guidance into what I want to do after college (aka the rest of my life). In every post I talk about how much my internship experience has helped me understand and value the work of helping specific communities. As I finish up my college career and I start to contemplate my real life career, I’ve come to learn that I’m not ready to give up my idealism and my desire to want to help better communities.

My work at PHA and my discussions with staff at PHA helped me understand my passion: service. Although I don’t really want to grow up, at least now I sort of know what I want to do–serve the community.

