Comparisons

Being at a media organization is, unsurprisingly, completely different than being at a governmental organization. Suffice it to say that my experience at MPD, the Attorney’s Office, and Citysearch have all been unique. I thought I’d use my experience and make you a lil’ list.

1. At Citysearch, I work at home. So, so different. I’m definitely not used to just pulling myself out of bed in time to long online. Benefits: working from anywhere, avoiding the morning commute, not having to get dressed. Bummers: Not having anyone to talk to all day long.

2. Workload. Everywhere I have worked has had a different workload. At Citysearch my work depended on whatever I was assigned for the week, and this changed after my supervisor changed.

3. Communication. Again, working online means communicating virtually, for the most part at least. This leads to a wide variety of situations, particularly those where you are left wondering: is my boss satisfied? Because I can’t tell from that email.

4. Motivation. Most importantly, it takes a lot of self-effort to work at home all day and to actually get something done. TV, the kitchen, books, the paper I should’ve written last week… it’s all very distracting.

All in all, I learned something from each and every one of my internships. There are things I am proud of and things I wish I could go back in time and change, but I am grateful for all the opportunities D.C. has afforded me. Just two posts to go, so I’m wrapping it up for you!

